Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Confession Time. (Haven’t I done that quite a bit lately?)

I’ve always been inclined to give. Or to want to give. That’s the stickler.

I was raised from an early age to give to my church, which I have done willingly so. One aspect of Dave Ramsey’s financial system is giving, which I love! When I think about what our needs/wants are, they are so…almost ridiculous in comparison to what half the world is experiencing. Thinking about our situation:

We want a house of our own! (At least we have shelter, and are blessed to live with incredible parents, and can tuck in to a warm bed at night)

We would love a bit of a boost in salary (At least we currently have a regular income, unlike so many)

Blasted Car Repairs…again?! (At least we have transportation, while many have never ridden in a vehicle before)

Peanut Butter and Jelly for the upteenth time? (Feeds our bellies! Quit complaining!)

I could go on and on, but you get the picture.

On top of our tithing, I’ve always wanted to give more, and have a few times…but not every time the mood has really struck; not every time I feel that God Whisper. When budgeting, I tithe and then make room for the bills…and there is rarely anything left over. However, 5 bucks, taken right out at the top of the budget, isn’t going to make or break us. I often forget that!

Therefore, I have made a vow, and challenge you to do the same. When talking to God about having a shop of my own, I fantasized about giving part of my earnings to some worthy cause. (And then thought that maybe I’d begin when I actually started making a profit…then kicked myself for even thinking that thought).

I am going to start giving 10% of my earnings (at first, and I hope to grow that percentage!) to a cause that is very near and dear to my heart. It can be found at www.childshopeinternational.org. Brother Jeremiah has a heart and passion for Kenyan refugees and orphans. They have tugged at my heart for a long while, so I’m excited to begin this little giving adventure.

Other worthy causes?

Anyone else have some causes they are passionate about giving towards? Comment away! Get the word out! If not, consider researching a cause and giving. Either money or time. Working at a soup kitchen is a pretty unforgettable experience.

(I am not trying to “toot my own horn”, here…it’s more of a “let me tell you how I’ve failed and what I’m going to do about it”, keep-me-accountable post!)

